Award-Winning Faculty

We are proud to announce that Dr. Kate Winskell, associate professor in the Hubert Department of Global Health (HDGH), won the Association of Schools in Programs in Public Health (ASPPH) 2016 Early Career in Public Health Teaching Award. Dr. Winskell was selected from a group of nominees submitted by 107 eligible schools and programs.

Dr. Winskell (far left) with other faculty at the HDGH Curriculum Committee Meeting

“It means a great deal to be honored in this way,” says Winskell. “Teaching is such an important and rewarding part of my professional life. I love the passion and the energy of the students. I love the way they challenge my thinking and push me to question my preconceptions.”

Winskell is the third member from the HDGH to win the Early Career in Public Health Teaching Award. Juan Leon, PhD, MPH, won in 2012 and Mo Ali, MBChB, MSc, MBA, won in 2013.

Award-Winning Educators Tell us What They Love About Teaching

Additional Faculty Awards and News

In 2015, HDGH faculty received more than $21 million in sponsored research awards. Throughout the same time period, faculty published 167 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals and their publications were cited 10,597 times.  

In the past year, many of our faculty have appeared in the news and have acquired numerous awards, appointments, and promotions, including:

Solveig Cunningham, MSc, PhD, assistant professor- received the Pfizer Young Investigator’s Award for Distinguished Research from ASPPH  

Saad B. Omer, MBBS, MPH, PhD, professor- appointed to the National Vaccine Advisory Committee

Amy Webb Girard, PhD- received the Hubert Department of Global Health’s 2015 Faculty Teaching Award

Read the 2015 Annual Report in full.