William H. Foege Global Health Fellowship Program


In recognition of Dr. William H. Foege’s vast contributions to public health and to Rollins—where he is the Presidential Distinguished Professor Emeritus of International Health—the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation established the William H. Foege Global Health Fellowship Program. The Fellowship assists mid-career public health professionals from developing nations interested in pursuing public health careers by providing them with training at Rollins.

Dr. Foege is an internationally renowned physician, epidemiologist and author who contributed to the eradication of smallpox. He has held a number of prestigious public health roles, including director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), founder of the Task Force for Global Health and executive director of The Carter Center.

"The most significant impact of the Foege fellowship has been and continues to be the invaluable professional and personal connections with public health experts from government, private sector, and academia in the United States and around the world," says Landry Dongmo Tsague, a former fellow.

Foege Fellows pursue an academic program at the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University (RSPH) and receive full tuition and fees for the duration of their enrollment. Foege Fellows typically pursue the MPH degree in either the traditional 2-year program or the 12-month accelerated program. Eligible nominees must meet the criteria for admissions to the MPH program at RSPH, including proficiency in written and oral English language. The Fellowship will consider candidates for doctoral study if they are admitted to the PhD program at the Laney Graduate School through the separate admissions process administered by Laney. For more information about academic programs and admissions criteria, please visit our Admissions page. 

The Foege Fellowship features a closed nomination process. The Foege Fellowship partners with five Atlanta-based public health organizations that Dr. Foege served during his distinguished career to provide each Fellow with a robust professional network and mentorship program. These are: CARE, The Carter Center, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Rollins School of Public Health, and Task Force for Global Health. Nominations can only be made by these five participating organizations. Each organization has the opportunity to nominate up to five candidates.  

Contact Us

For questions about the Foege Fellowship Program, please contact Dr. Deborah McFarland, director of the Foege Fellowship Program at dmcfarl@emory.edu