Virginia S. DeHaan Lecture on Health Promotion and Education

The 2017 DeHaan Lecture will feature Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD. Dr. Campbell is the Anna D. Wolf Chair at Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, and National Program Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars. The title of her talk will be, “Trauma Trails in Bodies, Brains and Neighborhoods: The Effects of Experiencing Violence and Trauma on Women’s Health.” The event will be held Thursday, October 26, 2017, in the Klamon Room (CNR 8020), with a reception held at 3:00 p.m. and the lecture beginning at 4:00 p.m. Please RSVP to Brittani Magee at by October 23.

Jacquelyn Campbell

cover graphic of DeHaan lecture programWe owe much of the success of Rollins’ Behavioral Sciences and Health Education Department to Virginia “Genie” DeHaan (1927-1988), an outstanding faculty member and public health champion. Genie was part of Rollins’ MPH program from the beginning.

As a faculty member, her diligent work fostered a smooth initial accreditation process for the school. She also pioneered the development of the Health Promotion and Education Track, and chaired the search to hire our first Health Education faculty member.

She was active in the mental health community and devoted much of her personal time to garnering resources for those who were mentally ill.

Students and faculty enjoyed limitless access to her guidance, support, and gentle advice.The Virginia S. DeHaan Lecture on Health Promotion and Education honors Genie’s memory by bringing a preeminent scholar to Rollins.

Year Name

Media Available


David Satcher, MD, PhD  David Satcher DeHaan Lecture presentation


Nancy Krieger, PhD Nancy Krieger DeHaan Lecture presentation


Robert Fullilove, III, EdD
2013 S. Leonard Syme, PhD
2012 Nancy E. Adler, PhD
2011 Mark T. Greenberg, PhD
2010 Ralph Hingson, ScD, MPH
2009 Barbara Israel, DrPH, MPH
2008 Ross C. Brownson, PhD
2007 Dr. Janet L. Collins
2005 Dr. Meredith Minkler
2004 Dr. Ichiro Kawachi
2003 Hubert H. Humphrey III media file available
2002 Huda C. Zurayk media file available
2001 Laurie Garrett media file available
2000 Everett M. Rogers, PhD
1999 Marshall W. Kreuter, PhD
1998 Audrey R. Gotsch, DrPH, CHES
1997 Noreen M. Clark, PhD media file available
1996 Michael Quinn Patton, PhD media file available
1995 James O. Prochaska, PhD
1994 Albert Bandura, PhD
1993 John R. Seffrin, PhD
1992 M. Joycelyn Elders, MD
1991 Jonathan M. Mann, MD, MPH
1990 Lawrence W. Green, DrPH, MPH

For additional information about the DeHaan Lecture, please contact:

Rollins School of Public Health
Development and Alumni Affairs
1518 Clifton Road
Atlanta, GA 30322

The 2016 DeHaan Lecture featured Dr. David Satcher, 16th Surgeon General of the United States and Founding Director of the Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine. The title of his talk was, "The Journey from Health Disparity to Health Equity." For access to a recording of the lecture, please click here.

David Satcher