Distinguished Achievement Award

Each year the Rollins School of Public Health presents an award to an alumnus/a who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of public health. Given in recognition of a lifetime of career achievement, recipients exemplify dedication to the public health ideals of promoting health and preventing disease.

The 2013-2014 Distinguished Achievement Award is presented to
Dr. Alawode Oladele, 93 MPH

Dr. Alawode Oladele, MD, MPH

Dr. Alawode Oladele graduated from the Rollins School of Public Health in 1993 with an MPH in Epidemiology. He received his Bachelor's degree from Morehouse College and his medical degree in Urology from the Morehouse School of Medicine, then completed his internship, residency and fellowship at Emory. Today, Dr. Oladele serves as the Medical Director for the DeKalb County Board of Health's Tuberculosis Program and is the CEO and President of Premiere International Health Care Inc. Through his work with Premiere International Health Care Inc., Dr. Oladele oversees a variety of HIV and community health projects in West, East, and Central Africa.

Dr. Oladele has legacy of service that extends far beyond most. He is the creative force behind DeKalb County's "Public Health Student Adopt a Refugee Family" Program and the Global Initiative for the Advancement of Nutritional Therapy (GIANT) in Africa -- an initiative he co-founded to help eliminate hunger and malnutrition through improved nutrition, better food access, and clean water across the continent. He is an active advisor to several national and international non-profit organizations, and serves on the Board of Directors for MedShare International where he facilitated the establishment of a $1 million medical assistance program through the Federal Ministry of Health for Nigeria. He is also a sponsor and supporter of the Women of Hope Project which provides free medical consultation and drugs for those infected with HIV/AIDS.

His contributions to both his local and international communities, including his home country of Nigeria, have been recognized on numerous occasions. Perhaps the most notable accolades were the Nigerian Consulates Appreciation Award and the Alliance of Nigerian Organizations in Georgia Image Award he received in 2009.

A respected researcher, physician and published author, Dr. Oladele has spent more than 15 years as public health advocate for social justice through economic and community development, environmental justice, human rights, and social change. It is for all these reasons we have chosen to recognize Dr. Alawode Oladele with our Rollins School of Public Health Distinguished Achievement Award.

Past Recipients:
2012 - Dr. David N. Westfall, 09 MPH
2011 - Dr. Stanley O. Foster, 82 MPH
2010 - Rear Admiral Ali S. Khan, MD, MPH
2009 - Dr. Robert C. Bailey, 97MPH
2008 - Dr. Daniel Blumenthal, 86MPH
2007 - Taroub Harb Faramand, MD, MPH
2006 - Dr. Dixie E. Snider, Jr., MD, MPH
2005 - Dr. Suzanne M. Smith, '91 MPH, MPA
2004 - Dr. Hani Atrash '85 MPH
2003 - Dr. E. Anne Peterson '94 MPH
2002 - Dr. Oscar E. Tarragó '89 MPH
2001 - Patrick J. McConnon, '89 MPH
2000 - Allan B. Goldman, '76 MPH
1999 - Virginia Shankle Bales, '77 MPH
1998 - Dr. Erica Frank '84 MPH
1997 - Dr. Stephen L. Cochi '93 MPH
1995 - Marie F. McLeod '90 MPH


  1. The individual will have made an outstanding contribution to public health at a community, state, national, or international level,
  2. The contribution(s) should have been made subsequent to receiving the degree from Rollins School of Public Health, and


Please download, complete, and return the Award Nomination Form.

All nominations are confidential and will be considered for three years, unless otherwise indicated by the nominee.  In so doing, the committee will contact the nominee to update the application.

For more information, please contact:

Michelle James
Director, Alumni & Constituent Relations
Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: (404) 727-4740
Fax: (404) 727-9853
Email: alumni@sph.emory.edu