Distinguished Achievement Award

Each year the Rollins School of Public Health presents an award to an alumnus/a who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of public health. Given in recognition of a lifetime of career achievement, recipients exemplify dedication to the public health ideals of promoting health and preventing disease.

The 2012-2013 Distinguished Achievement Award is presented to
Dr. David N. Westfall 09MPH

David Westfall

Dr. Westfall graduated from the Rollins School of Public Health in 2009 and currently serves as the District Public Health Director for District 2 at the State of Georgia's Department of Public Health. In this role he is responsible for promoting and improving public health in 13-county area in north Georgia. Some of his notable accomplishments to date in his role as District Health Director include increasing primary care services for HIV patients in the district's Ryan White Clinic, improving access to health care, and improving employee development for district staff.

Dr. Westfall is described by his nominator as a "champion for public health", dedicating himself to improving overall public health in the community. He holds numerous board leadership positions for organizations that help the uninsured, medically underserved areas, children who are victims of sexual or severe physical abuse, and emergency preparedness. He helped start the Good News Clinics (GNC), which provides medical and dental care at no cost to low income, uninsured residents of Hall County. Dr. Westfall currently serves as volunteer physician and advisory board member for GNC, which in 2011 provided approximately $22 million in services to uninsured residents of Hall County. In addition, he remains very engaged with the Career MPH program at Rollins through teaching and serving on thesis committees.

Please join us on Saturday, September 28, 2013 from 7:00 - 9:00 p.m. at the Rollins School of Public Health to recognize Dr. Westfall's contributions to public health.


Past Recipients:
2011 - Dr. Stanley O. Foster, 82 MPH
2010 - Rear Admiral Ali S. Khan, MD, MPH
2009 - Dr. Robert C. Bailey, 97MPH
2008 - Dr. Daniel Blumenthal, 86MPH
2007 - Taroub Harb Faramand, MD, MPH
2006 - Dr. Dixie E. Snider, Jr., MD, MPH
2005 - Dr. Suzanne M. Smith, '91 MPH, MPA
2004 - Dr. Hani Atrash '85 MPH
2003 - Dr. E. Anne Peterson '94 MPH
2002 - Dr. Oscar E. Tarragó '89 MPH
2001 - Patrick J. McConnon, '89 MPH
2000 - Allan B. Goldman, '76 MPH
1999 - Virginia Shankle Bales, '77 MPH
1998 - Dr. Erica Frank '84 MPH
1997 - Dr. Stephen L. Cochi '93 MPH
1995 - Marie F. McLeod '90 MPH


  1. The individual will have made an outstanding contribution to public health at a community, state, national, or international level,
  2. The contribution(s) should have been made subsequent to receiving the degree from Rollins School of Public Health, and


Please download, complete, and return the Award Nomination Form.

All nominations are confidential and will be considered for three years, unless otherwise indicated by the nominee.  In so doing, the committee will contact the nominee to update the application.

For more information, please contact:

Michelle James
Director, Alumni & Constituent Relations
Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: (404) 727-4740
Fax: (404) 727-9853
Email: alumni@sph.emory.edu